Eating Outside of the Box

I don’t know about you, but I’m coming to a point in my life where I am getting sick of the takeout boxes piled up in the garbage. Sure, in the short term it makes my life easier. It makes this fast paced life a bit more bearable. I pick up the phone and open up my textbook, while surfing Facebook- perfect, I don’t have to worry about cooking for myself tonight so I can get all this work done. But, I’m beginning to sit back and realize that ordering junky fast food is only another portion of my life that I’m gliding right through, without thinking. Is trolling around Facebook really higher on my list of priorities than the food I eat?

There are hundreds of thousands of Americans in this predicament, but one by one we’re opening our eyes. As the world around us goes by so quickly through cell phones, iPods and iPads we’re reaching out to other sources to hold on to in order to slow it down. We’re eating outside of the box, by taking part in the Slow Food Movement.

What is the Slow Food Movement you ask? It’s about looking at eating in a new way, one that strives to find harmony between the earth and humankind. We in the Slow Food Movement want to take a more active approach in our eating, this could be from lobbying to protect local farmers, celebrating the heritage behind a certain food or getting together a group of people to prepare and serve a meal full of local and sustainable foods.

Slow Food NU is an educational group of campus that’s mission is to promote the idea that food should be good for you, good for those who grow it, and good for the planet. If this peaks your interest because you because you believe in sustainability, are interested in a lifestyle change or just love food, I invite you to join us on January 27th at 7:30pm in room 325 Shillman Hall for our first meeting of the semester.

Technology is moving at the speed of light these days and I think it’s important to find something to slow life down a bit. Why not let it be food?
For more information about Slow Food NU please visit our Facebook page at

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Slow-Food-NU/129506747100769

For more information about the Slow Food Movement please visit their website at

http://www.slowfood.com/

Leave a Reply

