An Ode to Peanut Butter

An Ode to Peanut Butter

[[I can’t write poetry, so this won’t be a true ode in the literal sense.]]

I. Love. Peanut. Butter. I know this might not come as a surprise, seeing as I’m a
college student and, as one professor put it, “peanut butter’s practically a food group for
you kids.” I had this professor during freshman year but thought he was just being funny.
After all, I’d always enjoyed peanut butter. I could (and still can) eat peanut butter and
jelly sandwiches every day for lunch for weeks at a time. My favorite Christmas cookies
were always Top Hats – the peanut butter cookies with the Hershey’s kiss pressed into
the top. And, until I understood just how un-Slow Food-like they are, Reese’s were my
favorite candy.

But it was only after this professor’s comments that I started learning more about
peanut butter. I learned that peanuts are the most pesticide-intensive crop grown in the
United States. NOT COOL! That’s when I decided to try out organic peanut butter.
Suddenly I was a convert – no more of that partially hydrogenated crap for me.
Peanut butter is now one of the greatest things in my life. When it’s real and awesome,
then you have to refrigerate it and mix it before you use it. But perhaps the best thing
about now eating real peanut butter is how it sticks to the roof of my mouth. I’ve always
been a bit of a bookworm, and I remember reading childhood books that contained a
scene in which the characters would complain of peanut butter stuck in their mouths. But
I ever really understood this phenomenon, and now I realize that was because I was never
eating real peanut butter!

Now, real and organic peanut butter is the only type I buy. I’m so lucky that I live
with my best friend since when I’m running around making idiotic noises because I went
a stuck peanut butter all over the roof of my mouth (and hair and clothes and furniture;
I’m a bit messy when I eat), she just knows to act like nothing abnormal is happening.
What a gal. Meanwhile, while she’s calm and collected (or pretending not be weirded
out) I am jubilantly crowing “Book I hab peeub ubber ib my moub!” to anyone who will
listen (usually, she’s the only on in hearing distance…).

In short, I love peanut butter, and you should too.

Also, I just found out that National Peanut Butter Day is January 24th!!! This is
just as cool as Hobbit Day!

 

By our very own Mara Scallon 🙂

One thought on “An Ode to Peanut Butter

  1. Pingback: All the Best at the Garlic Fest « slowfoodnu

Leave a Reply

